rlbourges

Oh say can you see beyond the Roman candles and silver palms?

In Food, Local projects, news coverage, proto drafts on July 4, 2016 at 7:51 am

Lots to do out in the world of real. For now, I pull away from the media surf with two items: the photo of a French policeman walking over someone’s bedding in yet another encampment “evacuated” in Paris. Finding shelter for one person is tough enough, I understand full well sheltering thousands is no picnic – but there has to be better ways to treat people than loading them up like garbage and dumping them like same.

The second: the only item I’m reading in The New York Times for now, an opinion piece by Roy Scranton published on July 2, 2016.

P.S. If you replace the word ‘American’, coupled to the words ‘heroism’ and ‘military’, you discover the myth holds true. The uniforms, badges and medals change, the basic notions don’t.

***

And yes, this is still about writing my own stuff – although the flow will get interrupted a lot again today, tomorrow, Wednesday, Thursday… maybe I have to revise my writing habits as I’m doing with my eating patterns.

Leave a Reply

