rlbourges

Aches, but nothing broken

In Drafts, Hautvoir, Local projects, Sanford Meisner on April 11, 2016 at 7:05 am

Everything aches more this morning than it did yesterday which is par for the course. Of visible injuries: a scraped nose and a scraped knee. The big toe the doctor wrenched back into place? Informs of its presence. But as clumsy falls go, this one didn’t cause too much damage.

All it takes is one misstep of the literal kind. After market, I drank a glass of mint tea with friends across from the marketplace. Crossed the street with my shopping cart and turned back to answer a friend. Missed the tiny step down from one of the sundry bumps posing as low sidewalks. Almost regained my balance. The shopping cart didn’t, pulled me along, and I landed on my right knee and my nose. From what I’ve figured out, the wrenched toe saved me from a harder landing on my face. Voilà. Ambulance ride, emergency, x-rays, treatment, instructions for a slo-mo week in terms of walking. My excellent neighbors are helping out in every way, including the longer walks with the dog.

***

Today, I’ll pick up the reading of the first in the series of novels involving the character I left suspended in mid-walk (no, he hasn’t tripped and fallen; I don’t expect that he will, but who knows?). I’ll rest-  and get some more writing done? I hope so because, as much as I enjoy reading other people’s stories, novels, poems, essays and/or humorous pieces, I’d like to complete this latest draft with some greater sense of personal satisfaction. Aches and pains aren’t my favorite places.

Leave a Reply

