rlbourges

Less than

In Fun, Games, Hautvoir, Local projects, Music, proto drafts on March 14, 2016 at 7:19 am

There’s a name for this figure of speech but I won’t go searching for it now. Adults used it a lot in my homeland; maybe they still do.

For instance, if the morning temperature was -30, they would say: “Not going to be a warm one.” So the figure of speech is the opposite of hyperbole which makes a mountain out of a molehill or a tempest in a tea cup.

All this to say I’m less than enthusiastic about my trip to Albi with F this morning; and less than confident about a positive outcome. The statement is becoming repetitious but: these are not gentle times.

Therefore, best not to dwell on the issue, and best yet not to anticipate one way or another. The Bureau chief may be out,  or afflicted with sudden Alzheimer concerning our meeting two Fridays ago. New instructions may have landed from on high. Etc.

Suffice it to say: a less than wonderful prospect. In life, as in story, we’ll see where things go from here.

The song playing on the inner radio? The Mommas and the Poppas singing California Dreaming. The inner radio likes to play those kinds of stunts. Every other day, every other day of the week is fi-i-i-i-ne, but whenever Monday comes you’ll find me crying, all of the time….Monday Monday

etc. Thank you, inner deejay.

Onward, forward. Allez.

***

The Bureau Chief was in a meeting. I referred to our meeting, and stated the case to the woman at the wicket. She went off to check with her supervisor. Came back, and took my phone number. They would check my version of the meeting with the Bureau Chief’s version and call me with a yes, we extend his stay by three months or a no dice.

Meanwhile, I helped another woman from this town  who was at the Bureau des Étrangers, and will help her write up some paperwork tomorrow. These agreements taken, she told me her husband works in a local tannery and the boss may be hiring. She’ll tell me tomorrow. If I have a yes, we’ll try a promise of hire for F.

and so on.

Leave a Reply

