rlbourges

who am I to argue

In Absurdlandia, Animals, Circus, Drafts, Hautvoir, Local projects, Music, news coverage, Revision on December 12, 2015 at 3:36 pm

the article was on this morning’s web edition of The New York Times. Free reading is limited to ten articles per month so I don’t click on everything. Besides, the photo and the blurb summarized the main point: two healthy smiling women were reminiscing about their rags to riches story and how they had gone from eating Spam to stardom.

I don’t like Spam myself, and I’m delighted with their success, whatever it may be. I even recall a period in my life when I aspired to that same rise from obscurity to fame. After all, we’re raised on the Rise of Aspiration combined with an Ethic of Hard Work yielding the prizes of fame and fortune. I need no longer worry about a similar fate befalling me but in my usual “what if” mode, I have to wonder how artists keep their edge once make-up artists show up for their photo shoot, and their  every word appears in quotation marks. It must take a remarkable personality not to really buy into the myth then. Reputable people pay attention – whether to cheer or to lambast. Has to mean you’re special. They don’t. Has to mean you’re not.

That’s the way the system is set up. At some point, we all buy into it, one way or another.

Whatever. Meanwhile, I go to rehearsal and laugh with my buddies. The dog goes outside, eats garbage and barfs all over the living room. What else? I pause for the clean-up.  Revision proceeds. From the top, once again.

Leave a Reply

