rlbourges

exeunt omnes on light feet

In Drafts, Hautvoir, Local projects, Music, news coverage, Revision, Theater on December 10, 2015 at 2:44 pm

When it comes to hair-splitting, I suppose every country has its own traditions. I admit total confusion at the French approach in this matter.

Granted, a few days before predictable debacles, folks are more inclined toward tactics than toward strategic thinking. With the flood rising, do I jump through the window and swim, or do I climb on the roof and wait for it to drift off as a raft, sort of thing. Which may be the only valid question, simply because no one thought to build the house on higher ground in the first place.

So I ask myself: do I apply for citizenship now or wait and see if I’ll get another ten-year residency permit when this one expires. Not a matter I need to settle today, obviously. But the question sticks around, more and more often.

***

Finished the draft? Not quite, but close. If I apply the Mozart principle, I have a few more notes to work in, then finis. If I follow the Beethoven mode, I hammer in the finale with a flurry of loud, definitive chords. I love Beethoven but I’d rather leave the story with one foot still in the air, so to speak.

When I woke up this morning, I realized my style tends less toward the page-turning, apoplectic mode than toward something the master pyrotechnician PierreAlain Hubert called le retournement, le cheminement vers le calme in his book L’homme d’artifices.

This reversal, this progression toward calmness, he applied to a pyrotechnical display that started with a massive explosion of fireworks, and worked its way down to a  final small light – a single lit match handed to a member of the audience.

Yes, I know. That’s no way to wow them in Wichita and to dazzle them… well, anywhere, really. Had I aimed to dazzle, I’d have made other life choices than the ones I’ve made so far.

Leave a Reply

