rlbourges

The phone rings …

In A post to keep afloat, Drafts, En français dans le texte, Hautvoir, Revision on December 3, 2015 at 9:53 am

I’ve had short work experiences, but this one leaves me sputtering.

The phone rang as I was preparing materials for my English teaching day in the third school. The woman, embarrassed and angry at having to do the dirty work – as I can well understand. The contract… uh, well, the contract won’t happen. L’Education Nationale can’t hire me. Why? Because l’Education Nationale can’t hire someone over sixty-five years of age. Why? Because a French person over sixty-five years of age is entitled to a pension. L’Education Nationale can’t hire someone on a pension. I have no French pension.

Never mind. How will l’Education Nationale pay me for the two days I’ve just donated to the good of the Nation, I ask? The woman doesn’t know but will inquire.

I went to the school to apologize for not doing what everyone expected me to do today. The principal, angry, ashamed and apologetic (although none of this is his fault). Why none of the bright minds in Toulouse bothered checking the birth date on my cv? No idea.

C’est la France.

J’y habite. 

***

no matter what, one way or another, I’ll get back into story tomorrow.

 

Leave a Reply

