rlbourges

Forgiveness

In Current reading, Hautvoir, Local projects, proto drafts, Story material, Summer Story on November 3, 2015 at 8:52 am

Forgiveness, for instance. Christians are big on forgiveness – not necessarily in practical terms but in the do as I say sermons and inspirational messages for posting on Facebook.

Well, as discovered yesterday at the ripe old age of sixty-nine, it ain’t necessarily so. A powerful surge of anger works even better than forgiveness, in some instances. I’m not about to forget it either. In the grading system used in schools over here, that would rate an A for Acquired vs a NA for Not Acquired or an EA (En cours d’apprentissage – In the process of learning).

Dealing with others again after two weeks of dealing mostly with myself: a jolt. A nine year-old boy with a slow brain vs a fifty or sixty-something troublemaker: this is called a choice? Not even, since they showed up one after the other. Back to the same school this morning, to discuss the nine year-old slow learner with others. Whether the fifty-something person learned something from our encounter yesterday, I don’t know. At any rate, I thank her for teaching me I don’t have to put up with someone laying her nonsense on me – and I don’t even have to smile and apologize the next time I see her.

Allez. At this point in the fiction, I’m reading through as I often do when nearing the end: character by character, concentrating on those I’ve left suspended in a freeze-frame. What are they up to now? Why did they react that way? What else has happened since, and what else, if anything, can they contribute to the overall  pattern?

So, like everything else, forgiveness is as forgiveness yields. For some reason, this resonates best with another character in the line-up of Usual Suspects. I don’t imagine him, head bent, reciting the Lord’s Prayer with special insistence on forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who’ve trespassed against us. But where does that leave him in terms of available options? Therein lies the true question, somewhere.

Leave a Reply

