rlbourges

Two young men

In Animals, Circus, Current reading, En français dans le texte, Hautvoir, Local projects, Music, proto drafts on November 2, 2015 at 9:47 am

I guess the Australian girl showed up after all. The one I might have replaced as an English teacher in the town’s grade schools. I suppose the two-week holiday is the reason no one called to tell me my services wouldn’t be required after all. Or maybe there’s some other explanation. In any event, since the job was supposed to begin this morning, it isn’t. Go figure, or don’t.

Energy-wise, I don’t mind to put it politely. Revenue-wise, I could have used the extra income. The balancing act, right there: how expensive is the extra revenue if it eats away huge gobs of non-renewable time you’d rather spend on something else? That is the question.

A fair amount of nonsense occurred outside my place last night. It’s  main benefit from my perspective: it provided the right touch of incongruity as background for a scene much in need of that right mix of straight-on good intentions and piles of misunderstandings breaking off just before the less sober ones initiate a fist fight. By evening’s end, a trapped cat was released, a dying man made his way closer to the exit in the hospital, and neighborhood good and bad vibes thrummed along to a sostenuto. How things will fare today? Pretty much as they do most of the time, I suspect.

When is a fish not a fish? When it has lungs and warm blood. (Yes, I’ve reached the chapter where Herman Melville does his taxonomy on whales.) Wherein – despite his insistence lungs and warm blood notwithstanding, whales are fishes – I learn there are differences between what the French call a cachalot and what they call a baleine.

Of course, I will check on these things while the rest of the characters decide where they stand in the final chapters of my current proto-draft.

Leave a Reply

