rlbourges

Tipping Points

In Current reading, Hautvoir, news coverage, proto drafts, Revision on October 20, 2015 at 8:25 am

the title being the closest I can think of to the French word basculements which came to me yesterday as I was sorting through books I don’t care all that much about (bought at sales for reasons I can’t always fathom).

One such by a now-deceased French humorist begins with a declaration of love for France. A declaration that might have enchanted me a few years ago. Except the political climate has veered so far right in the past few years that the words of this sympathique left-wing anarchist would fit just fine in any of the recent ultra-right screeds about the sacred bonds uniting – nay, rooting – humans to their native soil.

Sad to say, in landslides, even the finest trees find themselves up-ended.

Back to story: I still don’t know why I decided the next scene I’m about to revise belongs to the Third Part of whatever the finished story will be. Live and learn. Go forth and discover, etc.

***

Silly, to be so upset over the death by hanging in Istanbul of an activist I had never heard of before? A strong woman, from all accounts. Made to appear weak and suicidal over a missed plane connection. The thought of her, most present this morning. You don’t choose early morning thoughts; they choose you.

Allez. The day.

Leave a Reply

