rlbourges

How exciting

In Circus, Current reading, Food, Hautvoir, proto drafts on August 19, 2015 at 7:12 am

The latest news, gleaned off The New York Times website: Libido Pill Approved for Women  and Smashed Cucumber Salad Takes Manhattan (I may have the titles a bit wrong but close is good enough). I admit a greater temptation to reading about the smashed cucumber salad than about chemically enhanced libidos, whether male or female. Am I showing my age by stating this? Maybe. Do I care about showing my age? No. Besides which the world as defined by TNYT’s web pages is as fascinating and as distant from me as are the photos of astronomical wonders I like to look at. Fascinating. Distant.

Going to Aurillac this afternoon. An unexpected twist. Coming back in the early morning hours tomorrow. I’ll call this my summer holiday. I’ll miss les Plasticiens Volants‘ version of Little Nemo in Slumberland – they’ll be inflating the giant figures when we get there and the driver wants to see some other shows at one of France’s biggest Street Arts Festival.

Walked the dog in pink morning light and wrestled down a few inner demons in the process. They’re bound to show up in writing, one way or another. Writing. Yes, the joke is on me. The real challenge: making the joke fresh, once you know what your range is, more or less.

Smashed cucumber salad taking on Manhattan. Will I use up one tenth of my free reading privileges on TNYT website for details? Will Manhattan survive smashed cucumber salad and revert to kimchi?

Meanwhile, both Nabokov’s Lectures and his novel Pnin (available online) continue to hold sway on my reading life. My own writing: slow, slower, slowest.  End of a cycle. What happens next, I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

