rlbourges

“Bon courage, Madame”

In Animals, Circus, coffee, Hautvoir, humeurs, Local projects, photography, proto drafts, Sundays on August 2, 2015 at 6:33 am

A woman I only  know through street salutations walked up to me yesterday, near the downtown mini-mart. I thought you’d left this town, she said, I didn’t see you around anymore. I tell her I’ve moved to this neighborhood. Her face dissolves. “But there’s nothing here. Nothing but poverty.” A wild enough appraisal in itself, but I’m too stunned to answer, other than to say we all do as best we can.  She walks off with the words I’m using as a title.

The light is nice :

DSCN2123

Settling in progresses. I may have a working shower tomorrow or Tuesday (the handyman must replace the entire faucet cum shower head arrangement). I’ve repatriated the plants from my neighbor’s. In mid-afternoon, I cried a lot à la Alice near-drowning in her own tears. A mix of sadness over someone’s failing battle against cancer and personal disappointments. This was prior to the street encounter of remarkable stupidity. Said stupidity can prove bracing at times.

I don’t know where I’m going with the new venture out in story, so I’ll wander around as often happens before the characters take hold – somewhere around the seventh or eighth or thirteenth re-write.

I doubt I’ll make it to Greece, end of August.

Out in the world of so-called social networking, I note a lot of outrage over the shooting death of a lion in Africa. A sad and inexcusable event, of course. Why the deaths of children through disease, malnutrition and mistreatment don’t cause anything resembling that sort of tremor: a mystery. The kids don’t deserve any better, because of all that poverty?

Allez, Lucie. Wandering characters, despondencies and enthusiasms await. This is Sunday, August 2nd 2015, a one-time event in the history of the universe.

Leave a Reply

