rlbourges

Greek words streaming in my head

In Drafts, Local projects, Music, Revision, Sanford Meisner on July 10, 2015 at 7:17 am

I don’t like ear plugs, so one of the advantages of living alone involves not boring someone else while I learn a song. Something I’ve been doing for the past two days, ever since discovering Taxidi sta Kythira thanks to a Facebook find. The song is sad. As for the visual, well, it matches the lyrics and the tune and the singer’s voice. I’m well on my way to memorizing the lyrics, then I’ll sing it to myself whenever I want and put my own images on it.

I’ve got the front end and the back to the story. “To begin at the beginning is, next to ending at the end, the whole art of writing; as for the middle you may fill it in with any rubble that you choose. But the beginning and the end, like the strong stone outer walls of mediaeval buildings, contain and define the whole.” So sayeth Hilaire Belloc. Still. The judicious placement of the inner rubble has some bearing on structural longevity – and reader indulgence too. So I’ll give some thought to the middle while pursuing packing, singing, letter writing for self and others and all the unscheduled bits that come knocking at the door.

The weather? Splendid. Cool air streaming in. Should get cloudy tomorrow night during our outdoor performance. Cloudy is all right, as long as the clouds stay up above our heads and don’t drip into the sound system.

voilà for now. Back to what the title says.

Leave a Reply

