rlbourges

a space

In A post to keep afloat on April 12, 2015 at 8:29 am

where if not here. Not because “…anyone with a blog feels like a best-selling novelist-in-waiting.”

Because everyone, writer or not, needs a space.

The pros and cons of M.F.A. programs mentioned in the article quoted above have no direct bearing on my life (other than instructive value), so this is also a space in which to keep a record of  “The Radical Vision of Toni Morrison”.

***

Swallowing solids again without choking. A pleasant feeling.

***

Was it because of my annoyance with Twitter that I picked up Thomas Mann’s Doctor Faustus last night? Or because of Bulgakov’s The Master and Margarita? I don’t know but I can’t help but laugh (at least, my mouth twitches with the urge to do so) at the sight of my French-language copy of Mann’s opus. Published by Editions Albin Michel in nineteen fifty, the writing on yellowed and brittle pages starts with a lengthy digression, references to classical authors, some quotes in Latin. Mon dieu. Six hundred and forty-one pages in all. I’m in no hurry.

As for Bulgakov. Between long bouts of sleep, I read one of his plays again. Perhaps he had hoped to get it past the censors. After all, it’s Louis XIV Molière calls a tyrant at the end of La Cabale des Dévots. But censors know what’s what. Writing about any tyrant whatsoever in the nineteen thirties in Moscow? Come now, consider yourself lucky. Your play is forbidden but you are still a free man.

***

I now must balance the long bouts of sleep with some physical exercise before the limbs go into arthritic lock-jaw.

Writing? yes, that too, once I get my bearings again.

Leave a Reply

