rlbourges

Stupid facts of life

In Drafts, Hautvoir, Names and Titles, Querying, Synopsis on February 11, 2015 at 7:59 am

I’m not the swiftest person around when it comes to electronics, for example. Or to matters such as my name.

I’ve set aside the rest of the stories below the headlines for later reading. One headline caught the corner of my eye. Not only because the writer’s generous cleavage was on display in the photo. Not only because she was quoted as saying journalists only cared about the sex (considering the main topic of her novel, you want to say ‘duh…’, but never mind). No, the main thing that caught my eye was the writer’s name. Or rather, the fact she uses two initials in front of her surname.

RL Bourges, I call myself. Duh indeed. Let’s suppose for a moment that I’m the entry level reader (or, worse yet, the main player) at a literary agency. An unsolicited query comes in from a perfect unknown calling herself RL whatever. Snif, snort, smirk. Oh right: Another shady greying wannabe – hit the delete key.

Of course, there are lots of other women who write and use initials instead of owning up to a Patricia or a Mary or, god forbid, an Ethel. They made it past the entry level readers. Heck, some of them became great buddies with their agents and their publishers. But that is neither here nor there, considering my name is Anybody Nobody when I send out my queries. An Anybody Nobody who identifies herself as RL whatever.

Trivia? Trivia. The writing should carry the vote, yes? A rose by any other name, etc.

Nonetheless, I’ll give the matter more thought before sending out my next query. In real life, I’ve gone under four legitimate names already. What’s to stop me from identifying my work under another? Avatars, everywhere around me, so why not another, added to the mix.

Back to verb tenses I go.

A P.S. after finishing with verb tenses :

The simplest will be to query under the name I consider habitual these days. Should an agent ever accept to represent me, the issue can always be discussed, should my habitual name prove wanting in any respect.

On to the synopsis I go.

 

Leave a Reply

