rlbourges

On the Second Day Off

In Hautvoir, Revision, Sanford Meisner on December 22, 2014 at 9:10 am

Yes, I know. In his Spoon River exercises, Meisner tells his acting  students to work from the emotional charge of the final lines in the poems. An excellent exercise that helps to give depth and individuality to the readings.

For my own intents and purposes as a writer, I figured out something else this morning, as I mulled about and watched the fog thicken over the town: I need to project the characters beyond the final lines into a future that keeps me smiling. Granted, I tend to smile at odd moments but that’s all right. A smile – even a dazed and goofy one – I prefer to most of the other options out there.

With a bit of luck, this notion will keep me interested enough for yet another run through this endless experience with the current bit of story  writing. I’ve stayed with it for so long now, yesterday’s day off felt like a blessing from the school director: yes, child, you may leave early today; no homework, and please dawdle on the way home. No need to read through the story. Holiday. Go out there, and enjoy yourself.

Granted, the times aren’t conducive to goofy pheromone-inspired smiles. The times, they are full of anger, despondency, strife and woes, woes, countless. Absurdities by the sack full. Relentless revelations of wrongdoing, corruption, evil, horrors, etc etc. And good old, plain old boredom in search of something, anything.

No matter. If you’re somewhat cuckoo, that is. Cuckoo enough to bob along, considering there’s not much else you can do anyway.

So. Without writing it into this story, how do I imagine things working out next for the main characters? My only proviso: what happens next must make me laugh, no matter what.

 

 

Leave a Reply

