rlbourges

Scene Prep

In Film, Food, Local projects, Music, Revision, Sanford Meisner, Scene Prep on December 2, 2014 at 9:28 am

Sometimes, you have to sing alone. Correction: not so much alone, as singing your own voice in the partition with no one else holding the same note. Your job to do it. You do it right, there’s more harmonic texture. You do it wrong, everybody notices there’s something wrong, even if they can’t put their finger on what the problem is. You don’t do it at all, nobody notices, except you. The choral work is textured enough already. Same as dishes laid out on a holiday table. If they’re are inviting enough, who notices or cares whether you forgot one of the dips in the fridge?

Sometimes, you have to do it on your own. It? It.  What “It”? The “It”  you know you have to do. Who am I to tell  you which “It” is yours to handle here and now?

***

I realize the context was so grim, the image might not stand out as the most outstanding of them all in Wim Wenders’ documentary Le Sel de la Terre. A truckload of famished people, too weak to walk. Lying side by side, two old men – friends since childhood – carry on a conversation they’d begun before the loading process. They should do without, while they still have the strength for a yammer?

***

I’ll get to Gaillac this evening for the documentary film evening, one way or another. I’ll get back to this town tonight or tomorrow morning, one way or another. Unless I drop dead first, I’ll finish the story. Why? Because I’ll finish it, that’s why.

***

The on-line petitions and invites. The guilt trips and temptations. All there, all there. Does clicking a Like or a Share make a difference to Reality out there? How should I know. Reality is way too big for me. When the appeal strikes the right note at the right moment, I respond. When it doesn’t, I don’t – even if it’s  the very same appeal coming at me from a different angle. C’est comme ça. 

***

Sticks and stones can break my bones, but words will never hurt me. False.

Mary, Mary quite contrary, how does your garden grow? With silver bells and cockle shells and pretty maids all in a row.

***

The dreams were fine. Dreams count as part of Reality. Reality as Scene Prep? Yes, if you happen to be a writer.

 

Leave a Reply

