rlbourges

Papa may have, and mama may have but…

In Drafts, Querying, Sanford Meisner, Synopsis, The Crab Walker on July 9, 2014 at 7:22 am

What’s in a name? A lot. A pen name on my mailbox almost got me in trouble with social services, once. I was lucky: the inspector was a decent type. He accepted a glance at my manuscript as proof of my good faith, and didn’t insist on checking my bathroom for shaving cream.

What’s in a name. In Israel, I used my former husband’s – a familiar one in that country and easy to write in Hebrew script. In Canada, Toronto industry lawyers made condescending faces at me because of my French-Canadian patronym (so did the nice people at Screen Actors’ Guild in New York but they were better at smiling than were the lawyers). Here, I go by another former husband’s family name. So, all told, I’ve only tried out four names in my sixty-eight years. Which one comes closest to describing me? I don’t have a clue. Which one makes the most sense when sending a query letter? My current one, I guess but I have a sentimental attachment to the pen name. Plus, I like disguises.

So. Another read through the synopsis. Another read through the ms. Another disgraceful battle with the header feature. Another run through agent listings. I loathe rejection but then, who doesn’t.

I don’t own a car any more. Used to love driving. In the dream last night, I still owned one and my driver’s license hadn’t expired. God bless the child that’s got both.

Leave a Reply

