rlbourges

Treatment

In Local projects, Revision, Sanford Meisner on June 11, 2014 at 6:59 am

The heat is on and the bugs are out. A stinging type keeping me company all night with the sound of a violin pitched to impossible heights. Yesterday’s meetings: more exercises in smiling in friendly ways while invited to donate more time on someone else’s paying project. In one instance, the someone laying on the patronizing shtick so thick, I did a spiraling piece of time travel to my very first visit in this country – that would be some forty-five years ago.

Repeating myself? Over and over again. As in: can revising this story amount to anything worthwhile? Can I get it to carry off an intended lightness of touch I don’t experience when the heat and the to-do list bears down. As for actors, living truthfully in imaginary circumstances isn’t the same as emoting in all available directions. I’m not moving ahead at the pace I expected, but that’s also true of my walking gait these days.

Doubt. Even the demon chaser has a tough time with that one. Self-doubt has as much humorous potential as any other topic, but whatever cuts closest to the bone is always the toughest to treat with a light  hand.

Leave a Reply

