rlbourges

Irrevocable

In Current reading, Drafts, Hautvoir on March 19, 2014 at 8:23 am

The book weighs in at eight hundred grams. Divided in twelve sections, the text runs to one thousand one hundred and fifty-two pages. The bibliography takes up fifty pages or so, and the general index, eighty-five.

I open at random (and my right hand up to the saint himself, this is the truth): the first imaginary and/or facetious one I meet? Saint Orang. He gets a two-line description, the translation of which reads: A mysterious saint of impenetrable mien sculpted by Paul Gauguin (reproduced in Archistra 1997: CLV, 31).

Title of the book ( borrowed from the  Gaillac library): Dictionnaire des Saints Imaginaires et Facétieux, a labor of love and obsession by one Jacques E. Merceron. A perfect adjunct to more serious sources of knowledge. In fact, setting it aside proves to be a serious problem.

The irrevocability in the title refers to a bold move on my part. No turning back now that I’ve pulled off an entire strip of wallpaper in the bathroom. I’ll have to go on working in order to buy paint. Color still undecided although I have a mind to a pearlescent grey.

Also in the active fantasy department: the notion of someone (a character in a future story, perhaps) owning a small shop over on the next street. Now abandoned with the small wooden shutter boarded up against squatters, I assume the space was a small leather goods or shoemaker’s workshop and store  because of the top part of the door being independent from the bottom one. I further assume there’s a bit of garden in the back.

Monday morning, while doing the walk-around with the dancer, I joked about buying the place and turning it into my writing studio. No phones allowed i.e. no callers mispronouncing my name and offering generous rebates on roof insulation or efficient termite exterminators now visiting my town for two days only. (I asked my phone service provider to remove my number from calling lists but I guess it’s out there already.)

Hm. Distracted. I’d best set the Dictionnaire des Saints Imaginaires et Facétieux on another table than this one.

Leave a Reply

