rlbourges

Of weeds and roses

In Current reading, Drafts, Wine on February 22, 2014 at 6:11 am

The difference between walking and getting somewhere by car.

Will the story survive yet another re-working of scene order, scene intent and further probing into the characters? I don’t know. I do know I can’t accept the story as it is right now.

Received the copy I’d ordered of Francine Prose’s Reading Like A Writer. In the final chapter (just before the list of some one hundred and fifty  Books To Be Read Immediately), she mentions a friend asking her “…how do you know if you’ve created a rose – or just a weed?”

A fair question. At this point, in my case, I’ll be proud and happy if I can read through something of mine from start to finish and consider I can’t do better on this outing.

***

Do they still plant a rosebush at the top of each row, in the vineyards? Used to be a way to monitor soil condition. The bush thrived, so did the vine.

Walking. How you experience life on foot and without a phone. What you notice of the world around you. How you organize your time.

 

Leave a Reply

