rlbourges

Here and There

In Drafts, Games, Hautvoir on February 14, 2014 at 7:28 am

funny: I’ve never owned the object although I inquired about the possibility of buying it. No, the artist said. The small hare was cast in that locale; it’s meant to stay there. Funny because in story, the small hare shows up as a gift to one of the characters. A stolen gift, at that. Funnier still, every time I walk into the space where the hare would be, in story, I’m dismayed by its absence. Need a few seconds to readjust and say: of course, it’s in that parallel  universe called fiction, along with the woman with some similarities with me – and many differences.

The part I find funny? The dismay. The same a small child would experience when tumbling from the world of make-believe back to the “have you finished your homework yet? Go wash your hands, we’ll be eating in five minutes”. Or the jolt when you start falling asleep so fast the muscular disconnect is too intense and you get a startle reflex, as if you’d dropped back up instead of down.

Objects imbued with power. The power of suggestion. How the power works, I don’t know. Except for this: in the first months after its birth, a child goes through a tremendous cutting back of neurons in the brain. Pathways get established, linking bits of sensory knowledge to other bits: sounds, temperature, pressure, rough, smooth.Depth perception, and big/small, near/far  take  longer to get sorted out. What the eye can see but the hand can’t touch, for example. The kitten trying to “catch” the bit of sunlight flickering on the floor.

A question put to me by my daughter at age three. Getting ready for bed, after the made up story where the day’s events became the fictional happenings in the life of a girl called Sophie. Looking off to a spot on the far wall of the room. “I’m here, and the wall is over there. How come I see it in my eyes over here?”

You grow up. They explain all about  the eye, the rods and cones, depth perception and so on. Even so, I’m not so sure we ever totally get the difference between inside and outside, right here and over there. I’m not even totally sure I know how that difference works, except in the simplest reality-based tests essential to the business  of getting things done.

What other objects? (In the story). What role might one or several of them play in a subsequent scene?

Leave a Reply

