rlbourges

Recurring Patterns

In Animals, Current reading, Drafts, Hautvoir, Music on February 10, 2014 at 7:25 am

Awoke to a question. The first question put to the students in Gaillac working on a self-portrait in words and photos. “If I were an animal, I would be …”

Somewhere around five thirty am, I settled on the loon. Wouldn’t mind exploring the world as a waterfowl, although I suppose I couldn’t report back much of my experience to other species.

The next question put to the students pertains to the season of the year they would choose to be. Haven’t settled the issue yet because a painting by Bruegel keeps crowding my internal field of vision. All right, it’s a winter scene. Doesn’t mean I’d choose to be it. A copy of that painting once adorned a wall in the room I occupied. On a diagonal to it was a poster representing Shiva (?) and what’s-her-name riding on the back of the great mythical bird. The room was in a commune. Someone’s lost and miserable dog took to sleeping in my room, and chewing on my favorite shirt. The dog disappeared, one day. I patched the shirt and wore it for years, until it fell apart.

How and when old memories pop up. Yes, the way loons do, with or without the fish they were chasing underwater.

Someone used to mail me the paper edition of The New York Review of Books. Continued to do so for years, although we no longer communicated in the Hi there- Merry Christmas-Happy Birthday mode.

Story-telling. Finding the right distance, the right vehicle, the right order in the telling.

Leave a Reply

