rlbourges

More on Miséry

In Drafts, Film, Food on December 26, 2013 at 7:13 am

The computer technician called in the evening. Confirming the appointment at my apartment this morning. He is orderly and organized – qualities I admire in others and fail to replicate. Something to do with bone structure or the way brain synapses work, or don’t. His confirmation came with a rider: a lot depends on how his back heals overnight after a nasty incident with a thing too heavy for his lifting capacity. I recommended the local equivalent to the brand-name used by athletes for sore muscles, and wished him a good night’s sleep.

Miséry, as in Puech? Yes and no. As in a movie I’ve never seen. I’ll check out the details online in a few minutes. According to my hosts at the meal on Christmas Eve, the film tells of a famous writer. Waylaid by a crazed and admiring fan of the female persuasion, the hapless one suffers countless torments at her hands. This information, provided after the brief silence that followed a comment by my host’s brother. There I was, improvising on a general theme or other, when the brother said: “you remind me of the character in Misery. The woman. Something in your eyes.”

After checking out the actress online, I’ll take a close look at photos done of me during the evening. With special attention to my eyes, of course. On first appraisal, they bear one of the deadpan expressions I favor when weaving a tall tale. Come to think of it now, I’ll  have to take a closer look at the photos of my brother’s host. Who knows what lurks behind his friendly mien?

Back to the village I left yesterday, and a breakfast involving jams made from local fruit. The fruit gathered from a small orchard planted by a local on a piece of communal land. Almond trees, figs, cherries, plums. Any villager so inclined goes down the hill, and gathers some of the bounty. One man does the pruning every year.

The rain: thin, cold and penetrating, this morning. More sorting of  papers, more careful reading of the draft, more unexpected finds to discover, hiding in plain view.

Leave a Reply

