rlbourges

Dreams/then, how they play in real time

In Animals, Contes d'Exil, Drafts, Local projects, Music, Theater on December 3, 2013 at 8:56 am

I woke up between the two dreams. Cybèle was sighing against the door – her way of signalling she’d like to go outside. Wood and lots of it, in the first dream. Carved and turned on a lathe. Polished and fashioned into a bridge. I was crossing it on foot while cars drove by, and taking in the rounded feeling of the posts along the guardrail. There were carved steps down to the river, on the other side but I didn’t have the energy to walk all the way down, then back up again.

Cybèle sighed. Outside,  we took in the icy fog rolling over the town.

The second dream relates to several children’s stories and illustrations done for them. It relates to a specific shade of green also. The one used on cloth-bound books such as The Wind in the Willows in the Folio Society edition. Or the green in Ivan Bilibin’s illustrations to Russian tales. The dream involved the gift of three rings and a literal cliffhanger that did not end with the dreamer’s demise, nor in the loss of any of the rings. These rings had none of the malevolent power of the one in Tolkien’s stories. Or if they did, that power wasn’t apparent in the dream, and the implied message had nothing to do with malevolence.

It’s the green I used in painting over an old, somewhat rickety cupboard, years ago. Once I’d applied it, the front and side panels of that garage-sale find cried out for specific scenes drawn from Bilibin’s illustrations. I more or less taught myself to draw and paint on that cupboard – or, rather, to accept the fact I took such pleasure in painting as best I could on something so valueless. The scenes I chose came from skazky (tales) – a way of teaching myself things I needed to know (or of reminding myself I knew them all along). Vassilissa The Fair, The Firebird, Sister Alyoushka and Brother Ivanoushka.

Und now, the day. During which I’ll learn plenty about cliffhangers, great, small and smaller yet.

(Reminder: must make a photographic record of the school children’s interpretations of Mona Lisa.)

Leave a Reply

