rlbourges

For your next assignment

In Drafts, Film, Hautvoir, Local projects on November 25, 2013 at 7:30 am

At yesterday’s film presentation for kiddies, mice flattened a cat by slamming a door. Or paddled out of a water hose now connected to the feline’s telephone. Cartoons are unrealistic. If some events in real time appear just as unlikely, you (the I I’m addressing as you) do your best to see the humor. Your best doesn’t always add up to much, you try anyway.

To whit, an incident, among the many absurd reversals yesterday: I’m trudging up the hill from market. Given the weather and the woebegone appearance of my old winter hat, I bought another for three euro. Someone I’ve never met before whizzes by, turns on me and says: “Without the European Union, we’d be finished already!” He says this pointing at my new hat, and pursues his rapid walk up the steep-and-getting-steeper rue de Peseignes.

Between huffing, puffing, coughing and blowing my nose, I ponder his words. The fact my woolen bonnet was bought on the market? Meaning someone in a foreign land was exploited? An off-the-wall kook in need of hearing his own voice out loud? Happens.

But no. Something tells me – ah.

Such are the times that the simple act of buying a woolen bonnet carries implications and coded meanings. In my case, the coded meanings were two:1) something to cover my head 2) something that wasn’t black or grey or dirty brown. I chose red. The man assumed I supported the “bonnet rouge” anti-Europe protest in Brittany.

If I can speed up the metabolism a bit, the entire week will play in the same absurd mode. If I can speed it up enough to get the writing where I want it, the same will hold true of the current draft. For the nonce, I brace myself for the onslaught of missteps, misunderstandings, misinterpretations, missed appointments and agenda screw-ups just ahead of me. Like so many barrels waiting to rumble down the hill. I’m laughing because doing anything else uses up too much precious energy.

Leave a Reply

